Age is Just a Number

A friend and I have been discussing the idea of age. It’s purpose and what it really means to grow up. it’s true, age is just a number that we’v given to define what we can do and when we can do it. Our age gives us restrictions on what experiences we can and should have. When someone says ‘you’re too young’ or you’ll understand when you’re older’ it makes me want to ask why? it’s true I may have not had the experience that will; make me discover it for myself, but it doesn’t mean that I can’t listen, can’t digest what is being told to me. I have a functioning brain and I am capable of learning and absorbing of new ideas and taking on new perceptions. The person saying it may be older and had more life experience but that fails to give the right to talk down to me when I say something foolish or something “childish”. I have seen women in their forties act like the girls I went to high school with. I have friends who are still in high school who talks far more intellectually than any “adult” I have ever met before. Let the credentials age gives you fade out. They don’t really mean a thing. Don’t let age diminish your capabilities. Don’t let the number of age define you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Age is Just a Number

  1. Indeed. I’ve come across plenty of forty-something children, and I’ve also met seventeen-year-old adults. Maturity is the only factor that really matters, honestly. Some people gain it early, and others never do.

  2. nanaaj says:

    I really agree with you on this. So many times we let age hold us back from certain things we really want to do.What people don’t realize is, you may be old but might not have much experience or the flair to do something.People need to stop putting people down because of their age and rather encourage them.

Leave a Reply

