Marietta’s apology

I’ve been reworking parts of how Marietta apologizes to Lucifer. I want the way she speaks and how he reacts to better match their characters.

“Hey. How’s your head.” Her smile lightened his mood slightly.

“It’s alright.” His attitude towards her was filled with annoyance and disinterest, the reaction she had expected.

“I’m sorry.” She was standing beside him, head bent down. Tears were welling up at the corner of her eyes. “I should have known they were up to something. Before you got hit, they asked me if I would be upset if you ever got hurt. Or if I had gotten over you. The questions seemed stupid, so I ignored them. I realized too late what they were getting at.

“I’m sorry, I should have paid more attention.”

Lucifer looked at her. “That’s not your fault. There’s no way you could have known. They’re just some assholes. That’s not your fault.”

She looked up at him, sniffling. “Really? You aren’t mad at me?”

“No I am not.”

“Oh thank you. I’m so glad we’re okay.”

“We’re fine as long as that boyfriend of yours stays away from me.”

“He’s not my boyfriend.”

“Oh spare me the lies. I’ve seen you together.

Her face went cross at his retort. “Don’t make accusations. We’re friends and I enjoy his company. Like I said before, I already have my eyes set on someone.”

“Fine, whatever you say. He’s not your boyfriend. Just keep your friend away from me.”

“Consider it done.” She leaned forward on the work bench, angled just enough for him to have a brief view of her cleavage. He must have been staring because Marietta stood straight up and took a slight step back.
Holding her gaze, he changed the mood of the conversation back to serious. “Can I ask you something?”

“Go ahead.” She took back her smile that had just started a moment before.

“Why me? Why did you get so damn attached to me? Even when I pushed you back, you resisted.” He paused, expecting her to start making some cutesy comment. Instead, she stared at her fingers, twirling them around each other. HE continue, “Don’t you know you could do so much better. I’m the guy who holds everyone back.”

This time she took his pause as her cue and spoke up, not with humor or flirtation, but sincerity. “You always seem so lonely. I’d be more than willing to be your friend friend again. In fact, I would love to be. If you really are willing to accept my apology” The tone was genuine, “I really am sorry Lucifer.” She meant what she was saying. That was clear, even to Lucifer. But he still didn’t trust her. Not after the last time.

She leaned back on her heels and gave him a once over. “You know, there’s something I’ve been wanting to talk to you about.” She paused letting him squirm.

He quickly turned to hide his embarrassment. “What is it? Did to come over to bug me or did you need something?” All he heard was a soft giggle. She was smiling as if he wasn’t being rude, but making a joke instead. “Look I don’t have time for your jokes. I’m busy working.”

Marietta stepped forward bringing herself just short of touching him. He had a few inches and to make up for it she stood on her tiptoes and got close to his face. A few inches separated the two.

She held her gaze, keeping his eyes on her. “I really think you’re strange. I do want to get to know you. For some reason I can’t stop thinking about you. You’re different from other boys I know.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

